Archive for April 25th, 2011

Meatless Monday

Here’s a tip from Allrecipes.com

 Meatless Substitutions

 Turn any recipe into a veggie one by replacing the meat with a vegetarian alternative. Looking for a new stir-fry? Convert a chicken or beef stir fry to vegetarian by substituting tofu or mycoprotein (a protein derived from mushrooms) for the meat. Love your father’s famous chili? Use textured vegetable protein (TVP) for the ground beef.

I have found this is very easy to do. On Meatless Mondays instead of ground turkey or beef I’ll used sautéed vegetables in spaghetti. My favorite substitution is grilled veggies in my quesadillas instead of meat. I like it so much I don’t even need a menu when we order at a Mexican restaurant….I always order a veggie quesadilla.

Avocado Tacos

 Ingredients

  • 3 avocados – peeled, pitted, and mashed
  • 1/4 cup onions, diced
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 12 (6 inch) corn tortillas
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro leaves, finely chopped
  • jalapeno pepper sauce, to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. In a medium bowl, mix avocados, onions, and garlic salt.
  3. Arrange corn tortillas in a single layer on a large baking sheet, and place in the preheated oven 2  to 5 minutes, until heated through.
  4. Spread tortillas with the avocado mixture. Garnish with cilantro and sprinkle with jalapeno pepper sauce.

I am “learning” to eat avocados! I think this would be a good starter recipe. It gives you the basics….feel free to add lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream, black beans, chiles, lime, or cheese.

 Recipe: Allrecipes.com