Meatless Monday

9 Foods You “Assumed” to be Vegetarian

Some of these entries really surprised me…..

1. Refried beans – Many of the “traditional” or “original” canned refried beans are made with hydrogenated lard — or pig fat. Make sure you’re looking for the “vegetarian” label if you’re avoiding animal-based ingredients.

2.  Tropicana Heart Healthy Orange Juice: contains tilapia, sardine and anchovy for those omega 3s. Vegetarians will probably want to stick to plant-based alternatives to get their dose of heart-healthy fats.

3.  Parmigiano-Reggiano –  is made with calf rennet (which comes from the cow’s stomach lining), according to the strict specifications and regulations that allow a cheese to be sold as Parmesan. Cheese that does not use animal rennet may or may not include “vegetable rennet” on the label.

4.  Marshmallows – contains gelatin — a protein made of skin and bones from pig or cow. Gelatin is used in a variety of foods including gummy bears, Skittles, some yogurts and smoothies.

5.  Potato Chips – Nutrition labels often don’t differentiate between animal and plant-based enzymes. Many companies use enzymes from pork to develop the cheese in some of their cheese seasonings.

6.  Worcestershire sauce  – is relatively well-known for containing anchovies. Look for an anchovy-free brand if you are avoiding animal based products.

7.  Bagels – Some bagels are made with the amino acid L-cysteine, which comes from either human hair or poultry feathers. Lender’s lists the ingredient clearly on their labels while other companies, don’t even know which source their ingredient is from.

8.  Altoids – Gelatin again! Because it’s used as a thickening agent, gelatin gives gummies and yogurt that jelly-like consistency. However, it also is used as a stabilizing agent in products such as Altoids.

9.  Beer – It’s a fairly well-known fact that Guinness beer uses isinglass, or fish bladder, as a fining agent, meaning it removes unwanted leftovers from the brewing process. Not all beers use isinglass, although others may use gelatin for the same purpose.

Source: Huffington Post

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: