Meatless Monday

I decided to switch things up today and actually TEST something before I posted it on Meatless Monday. I know it’s such a simple concept, but somehow each week it escapes me (smile)! I am on a journey to make eating healthy a lifestyle.  So when I saw a post titled “Lazy Girl’s Zucchini Spaghetti (no fancy tools required)”, I knew she was speaking directly to me. I am not necessarily lazy but always strapped for time, I’m a girl, I love zucchini and spaghetti and I lack fancy kitchen tools.

I experimented with both a mandolin and a box grater to make the noodles. I’m not sure which was easier. I have a nasty cut from the mandolin (1st time using it…ever) and the box grater wasn’t as smooth as the article would make it seem.

However, they both did the job and the result was delicious. This will definitely be my new spaghetti alternative. Next time I will use a different blade (and the finger guard) and try my hand at making zucchini fettuccine noodles.

The only surprise I had other than the need for a Dora band-aid, was how few noodles I was able to make from 3 medium sized zucchini. It is definitely enough for me but if I was trying to feed a family and have leftovers (which is usually my goal) I would need a lot more.

What are your faux pasta favorites?

Like this on Facebook

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Taz on August 19, 2013 at 2:24 PM

    i really enjoy using spaghetti squash. Like the zucchini, you don’t get a whole lot of “noodles”, but it is definitely nutritious and delicious. I use a fork to scrape out the squash, that may also work for the zucchini.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sunshine on August 19, 2013 at 10:02 PM

    It sounds phenomenal! What is the recipe?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

