Meatless Monday

Gluten, Gluten, everywhere and nothing to eat!

Since arriving at LIFE I have a whole new perspective on health. My previous measure of being healthy was how many times a person visited a M.D. Now I know better and I look at all the components that are involved with achieving optimum health.

I consider myself relatively healthy but I know that I would be healthier if I was more vigilant about what I eat. I have considered (on multiple occasions) to eliminate processed foods. So at the suggestion of a friend I read “Wheat Belly” and I was completely floored by how many products contain wheat/gluten. I am now considering a low gluten challenge. I prefer to call it a challenge rather than a diet. Just a week or two, to see how my body responds and whether I feel a difference.

Please tell me your thoughts on gluten free lifestyles. Have you tried it? If so, what was your motivation and your results? If not, tell me why as well? I really value your opinions and would love to hear from you.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jennifer on August 5, 2013 at 10:36 AM

    As part of a challenge in the wellness center 2 quarters ago, I challenged myself to be gluten free a couple days a week. I can’t say that I noticed a big difference (but I only did it every other day or something like that) but I did find myself eating more vegetables and lean proteins. Good luck! I look forward to finding out how this works for you!

    Reply

    • Jennifer I wondered how long it would take to notice a change…..eating less processed foods and more veggies is definitely a benefit.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Vickie on August 5, 2013 at 11:10 AM

    My daughter is highly sensitive to gluten and dairy. As a result, I have very few products in my home that do contain wheat and dairy and I rarely buy/eat processed foods because they do contain so much gluten and dairy. I have adjusted to a lot of the alternative forms of flours and have learned how to modify a lot of recipes. I have also lost a lot of my desire for “normal” breads and pastas as well as milk. As to whether I am healthier as a result, I cannot say. I don’t really feel any major difference and my blood work doesn’t show any major changes. Gluten-free flour alternatives are just as bad for weight and blood sugar levels as wheat flour, so going gluten-free is not a way to lose weight or lower blood sugar unless you eliminate instead of substitute.

    Reply

    • Great advice…..I feel the same way about meat substitutes. I think they’re weird lol. So is your family completely gluten free?

      Reply

      • Posted by Vickie on August 7, 2013 at 9:27 AM

        My daughter is because of her intolerance to gluten (bad migraines, skin rash, nausea, etc.). Family meals are always gluten free, but when I eat away from home I do not abstain from gluten unless I am sharing the meal with my daughter. When a family meal consists of a lot of gluten-free substitutes, I will occasionally prepare something different for my husband. He does not care for the substitutes very much. Most all deserts prepare at my home are gluten-free. My husband and I still eat regular, whole wheat bread and cereals.

  3. Posted by Kellye on August 5, 2013 at 11:40 AM

    Are you following a set of guidelines/pre-determined plan or researching and eliminating foods containing gluten? Perhaps, I’m on an island, but I’m not quite sure why gluten is bad for us. If eliminating/reducing gluten optimizes one’s healthy, perhaps I’ll give it a go. I’m sure I could use some tips.

    Reply

    • So Kellye I am just starting my research. But gluten is the protein found in wheat….wheat is now in everything from ketchup to candy bars! It causes belly fat, inflammation and a host of other issues. Studies show that patients with mental illness had reduced mental “episodes” when gluten was removed from their diet. So apparently it affects the brain as well. I became interested when a friend of mine went gluten free. She has always intestinal issues even had her gall bladder removed, nothing helped. She went gluten free and is symptom free! Another friend has an auto immune disease, she went gluten free and is now off Prednisone completely.

      Reply

      • Posted by Vickie on August 7, 2013 at 9:40 AM

        My daughter and I have gone this journey by trail and error and our own personal research. From what we gather, some people are not able to digest the gluten protein in wheat, barley and rye. The milk protein is very similar, so it follows that if you have problems digesting the gluten protein, you will more than likely have problems digesting the milk protein. If your body does not have any problems digesting the protein, then there is very little benefit to going gluten-free. Also, if you use sprouted grain, then the protein is already matured (and essentially in a digested form) before harvesting and therefore does not cause digestion problems.

      • Posted by Kellye on August 7, 2013 at 10:00 AM

        Thanks, Vickie. After reading Monday’s post, I did some research of my own. As it happens, my current diet is largely gluten free (minus the beer and pizza!). I eat mostly fresh vegetables and lean meats. I love Thai food, but found out that Thai is also largely gluten free. The noodles are rice noodles! I definitely don’t have Celiac’s disease and I don’t think I am sensitive to gluten products. Sandwiches, pizza, beer, soy sauce, etc. are all safe. I do get a little rumble in my tummy if I have too much sugar (like in a Coke) and ice cream is a painful experience, but I’m sure one has nothing to do with the other. Thanks again for your insight.

  4. Posted by Kathryn on August 5, 2013 at 2:44 PM

    After being completely gluten free for five months, I’ve lost 15lbs of inflammation. My energy has skyrocketed, and my skin is clearer now than it ever has been. My naturopath suggested going gluten free when blood work revealed low vitamin D, white blood cells, and short-chain fatty acids. (All have risen to “normal” over this time.) I also had high igE levels, which have come down dramatically.

    Most people think they are gluten free for a couple weeks, and then state they don’t notice a difference. It takes longer than a couple of weeks. In fact, MindBodyGreen believes it takes three to SIX months to clear the system.(http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-9739/how-gluten-wreaks-havoc-on-your-gut.html)

    For true results, you also have to eliminate dairy, because the protein in cow products acts on the gut in a similar fashion when leaky gut syndrome is present. I said *think* they are gluten free, because a lot of people believe clearing bread and pasta is all it takes. They forget all grain alcohol, meatballs, soy sauce, bacon, soup, lunch meat, “crab” sticks used in sushi, candy, salad dressing, ketchup, bbq sauce, etc. Or the biggest shockers I found: body lotions, the seal on envelopes, and spices!

    I didn’t notice a big difference in the beginning, but after two months I accidentally consumed something with gluten. The cleaner you are of something, the bigger the reaction will be once you have it again. I definitely knew I had eaten the wrong thing!

    I’ve also noticed a difference in my satiety as I eat. Before I could eat tons of pasta. Now, once serving of gluten free rice pasta satisfies me. Paleo pancakes are better than regular pancakes, and it only takes one to fill you up. Uncle Maddio’s gluten free crust is way better than regular crust.

    Overall, it’s the second best advice I’ve ever been given. (First is always to have a clear nervous system!) Let me know if you want to talk about it further.

    Reply

    • Thanks Kathryn. I love first hand advice. So unlike others things do you believe that you will only see results if you’re 100% gluten free, and that low gluten doesn’t help?

      Reply

      • Posted by Kathryn on August 5, 2013 at 7:58 PM

        It’s all or nothing. I just posted an article on FB this weekend that they are finally regulating what “gluten-free” is allowed to mean on labeling. (Less than 20ppm)

        I liken it to contaminated water. A few drops brushing your teeth or a whole glass, you’re getting sick.

Leave a Reply

