Friday’s Fun Fact

A researcher at the Universityof Arkansas has named a species of crustacean after late reggae music legend Bob Marley. Gnathia marleyi feeds on blood and infests certain fish that live among the coral reefs of the Caribbean Sea. The scientist that made the discovery says “I named this species, which is truly a natural wonder, after Marley because of my respect and admiration for Marley’s music.” Hmmmmmm…..not sure if I would want a blood sucking parasite named after me. Too bad you don’t get to reject the name if you decide you don’t want to be remembered in this way. Would you think it was an honor to have a species named after you, no matter what its role in the environment? Or would you pass on being honored in this way?

Source: Live Science

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pat Gilbert on July 13, 2012 at 9:58 AM

    I’d pass. I wouldn’t want a blood sucking species to be named after me! YUCK!!

    Reply

  2. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of
    the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but
    I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

