Meatless Monday

I don’t know about you but whenever I hear about a “topic” (for lack of a better term) I’ve never heard of before, it seems that this new “topic follows me wherever I go.  For example, shortly before Christmas my daughter was diagnosed with an illness that I had never heard of before. What happens next, within two weeks three other children I know get the same illness.

The same goes for the latest new “topic” in my life.  While on campus last week I heard some students talking about quinoa. I had never heard of quinoa but a couple of days later the quinoa follows me to a conference and what appears in my inbox this morning….more QUINOA. I am taking this as a sign that my Meatless Monday post today should be on quinoa.

 Check out this post from mythineats.com.  

Quinoa Nutrition facts

What is Quinoa?

Quinoa is known as a superfood, some people relate it to grain but it is actually a seed that comes from a plant most closely related to spinach. It is grown in the Andes mountains of South America.  The ancient Incas considered this plant sacred and called it “chisaya mama” which means ‘Mother of All Grains’. Quinoa grains are about the same size as millet, but flattened, with a pointed, oval shape. The color ranges from pale yellow through red and brown to black.

 These are the Nutrition facts and why it’s so good for you:

Quinoa is a great source of iron, manganese, potassium, riboflavin, copper, phosphorous, tryptophan, B6, niacin and thiamine.  One cup of cooked quinoa has only 220 calories.  It also has 5 grams of fiber and 8 grams of protein.

Quinoa is stocked with life-sustaining nutrients all across the board, including all eight essential amino acids. There are other highly beneficial compounds, vitamins and minerals.

It is not surprising that it is being recommended for people who want to lose weight, for people who suffer from migraine, heart disease and atherosclerosis, for people with gluten sensitivity, for vegans, and basically for everyone who wants to eat healthy.

 How to Prepare:

Quinoa cooks very easily, in about 15 minutes. Like cooking rice in a stove top pot, you’ll want almost 2 cups of water per one part quinoa but be careful not to pour too much water in the pot, otherwise it will take even longer.

Cook quinoa at a high setting until it starts boiling and then cover and simmer for about 12-15 minutes. When you see the ring-shaped sprouts popping out, you’ll know the quinoa is almost ready. Stir the quinoa so all the water gets absorbed.

Quinoa by itself is rather bland, I like to add olive oil, bullion, and if you like spicy food as I do some chili pepper as it boils. Quinoa is fun to cook with and you can add anything you like to it, from veggies to poultry, or you could make it as a cereal with milk and cinnamon, you can incorporate it into dessert, it’s a chameleon.

Ok, so my veggie loving friends…can I buy quinoa at a restaurant? I would rather have someone prepare this for me so that I know what its supposed to taste like before I try to make it on my own. I definitely want my first quinoa experience to be a positive one.

Source: My Thin Eats

Photo: Babble.com

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jennifer on February 27, 2012 at 10:33 AM

    I have had it before and I even have it as a staple in my pantry…I would be interested to see recipes for it as a dessert or cereal. Could I use it in my homemade granola somehow? Hhmmm…

    Reply

  2. Posted by pumpkinashley on February 27, 2012 at 10:39 AM

    I understand what you mean! Sometimes I worry if I hear of an illness that I don’t know of it will happen to someone I know unless I look up what it means. haha. That quinoa looks so good though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

