Meatless Monday

Meatless Monday

I have not had to deal with this situation (yet) but I wonder how I would handle it. Before reading the article I thought about how far I would go as a hostess to make my vegan or vegetarian guests comfortable. My first thought would be to ask the guests to bring their own food (I know that’s terrible). But I wouldn’t expect them to bring their entire meal, just a dish to share with the group. This dish would double as sustenance for the vegetarian guests if my attempt at accommodating them went horribly wrong.

 The article gave the following tips to welcome vegetarian guests feel welcome. 

  1. Ask what their dietary requirements are
  2. Prepare separate dishes
  3. Modify existing dishes
  4. Keep utensils separate as to not cross-contaminate meat and meatless dishes
  5. Label all dishes
  6. Seat guests next to open-minded, accepting people

 After reading the tips I realized that there are lots of EASY ways to make all your guests happy.

 How far would you go to make a vegetarian guest welcome in your home?

Source: Ehow.com

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jennifer on January 23, 2012 at 11:02 AM

    Last time I had a vegan at dinner (and this was way before I had ANY knowledge on the topic) I asked him for a simple recipe that I could make to share with the group. I made that and the other stuff I was planning to make. It worked relatively well. He made the tofu dish to bring and share!

    Reply

  2. Posted by john wheeler on January 23, 2012 at 12:02 PM

    Whenever a group of people are gathered for food it is very important to label them not just for vegans but for your guests who may have allergies. It’s vitally important not to cross contiminate serving untensils as well so that everyone can have an enjoyable meal with no consequences..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

