Meatless Monday Recap

 

It’s been a year since A Sustainable LIFE embraced Meatless Monday’s so lets recap….

Meatless Monday is an international campaign that encourages people not to eat meat on Mondays to improve their health and the health of the planet.

Why Monday? Well Monday is the beginning of the work week, the day when individuals settle back into a weekly routine. You also have a scheduled recurring reminder to start your week off on a nutritious note. In my case, I can do one day a week. You have to start somewhere, right?

When we started I had a hard time finding meatless meals but once I opened my mind and my palate to new options I began to look forward to Monday’s. Fast forward and couple of months and I became pregnant. Between cravings, heart burn and morning sickness,  Meatless Mondays or any sort of pre-arranged meals was out of the question. Now that the baby is here…she continues to play a big role in what I eat (or when/if I eat). But with proper planning I think I can once again give Meatless Monday’s a try.

So each Monday A Sustainable Life will offer meat-free recipes, reviews, nutrition and health news. I’ll also chronicle my journey towards healthier eating habits. So please join me for Meatless Mondays. Send your comments and favorite recipes to help others in their quest towards wellness.

Source: Meatless Monday.com

Like this on Facebook

One response to this post.

  1. As someone who loves to eat meat I have been struggling with it’s environmental impact and animal treatment. Meatless Mondays are a wonderful way to help. Although I have been reducing my meat consumption overall it is still a part of my diet. Meatless Monday not only creates one day a week where I will not consume meat it also provides a day where I can explore and practice ways to prepare meals without it. I will not go so far as to say consuming meat is evil but I will say the majority of the meat for consumption in our society is wasteful and unsustainable. Our eating habits are a way to make a huge difference in our world.

    Vote With It: The Movement
    Every dollar you spend says what is important to you. Let governments and companies know what you believe in. Vote with your money. Vote for what you believe in. Help spread the word.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

